October 3, 2018
New rules effective January 1, 2020
As one of the many new regulations signed into law by Governor Brown recently, the revised rules for sexual harassment training will impact a large number of California businesses, including nonprofits. The current law requires that employers with 50 or more employees or independent contractors in any state and have supervisors physically located in California provide qualified two-hour trainings for all supervisors in California every 2 years .
In 2020, that requirement will change to include employers with only 5 employees being required to:
- Provide at least 2 hours of sexual harassment training to all supervisors (within 6 months of assuming a supervisory position); AND
- Provide at least 1 hour of sexual harassment training to all other employees (within 6 months of hire); AND
- Provide at least 1 hour of sexual harassment training to temporary or seasonal employees (if employee will work for less than six months – within 30 calendar days after hire date or within 100 hours worked, whichever comes first). Temp employees provided by an agency will have the training provided to them by that agency (not the employer).
All trainings must be repeated every two years.
The Department of Fair Housing and Employment (DFEH) has been tasked with making the required trainings available on their website prior to the compliance date.
Employers may also create their own training module (so long as it complies with specific requirements), and can begin training earlier than the 1/1/2020 requirement.
Clients of CalNonprofits Insurance Services have free access to a suite of training topics (including state mandated sexual harassment training) via your ThinkHR subscription. If you need assistance with accessing ThinkHR training, please contact your Account Manager.